Catawba Presbytery 2016 Spring Highlights

The following occurred at the meeting of Catawba Presbytery held at the Effingham ARP Church, Effingham, SC:

  • Removed the name of student Martin Cramer from the rolls effective March 8, 2016
  • Received Jeremiah A. Thomas as a licentiate from Tennessee Alabama Presbytery effective March 8, 2016.
  • Granted retirement to Denny H. Hieber effective November 1, 2015.
  • Approved the organization of the Hill City Mission as a Church on April 3, 2016.  The service will be conducted by a Commission of the Presbytery
  • Approved the call from Hill City for Daniel F. Wells to begin April 3, 2016.  He will also be installed that same day.
  • Approved the call from Grace Church for Jeremiah A. Thomas as associate at Grace Church.  He will be ordained and installed at a Called Meeting of Presbytery on April 10, 2016.
  • Received James C. Robbins as a student of theology.  James is a Middler at RTS-Charlotte and a member of the Ebenezer Church.
  • Received Charles J. Phillips as a student of theology.  Charlie is a Middler at RTS-Charlotte and a member of Shem Creek Church.
  • Received Andrew K. Arrington as a Chaplain.  Drew is received as a Chaplain effective March 8, 2016 from the North American Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention.
  • Received the Presbytery and Synod reports from all 49 congregations and approved forwarding the information to General Synod.
  • Heard the Middler Sermon of James C. Robbins
  • Elected Alan J. Broyles as Moderator to begin serving July 1, 2016-June 30, 2017.
  • Elected L. Charles Hammond as Vice Moderator/Moderator-elect.  His terms as Moderator will be July 1, 2017-June 30, 2018.
  • Alan A. Morrow presided as Moderator for this meeting